Coach Leonard Nhambulo summons Rwanda Women’s squad for ICC World Cup Africa Qualifiers

The final dates for the ICC Women’s World Cup Africa Qualifier were confirmed in July. The tournament, originally to be held in October 2021 was rescheduled to September 7th– 20th to ease fixture congestion.


Rwanda Women's Cricket Team
Rwanda Women’s Cricket Team


Leonard Nhambulo, the head coach for Rwanda Women’s National Cricket team has summoned a 14-player squad for the upcoming regional qualifiers. Several surprising changes have taken place after the squad was announced. Nhambulo named Diane Marie Bimeyimana as the new captain for the women’s national team, replacing Sarah Uwera. Bimeyani was a key player who finished third in the Kwibuka Women’s T20 tourney held in Kigali in June and her impressive performance earned her a spot in Nhambulo’s team. Henriette Ishimwe who also performed well at the Kigali tourney made it to the team as the vice-captain who will assist Diane.

A total of 11 teams will be participating in the 2021 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Regional Qualifier including hosts Botswana, Cameroon, Namibia, Nigeria, Malawi, Mozambique, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda, Zimbabwe, and Rwanda. Cameroon, Botswana and Malawi will make their debuts at the ICC women’s event. The matches will be played in the T20I format and the topmost team will progress to the 2022 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier tournament.

The squad: Sarah Uwera, Sifa Ingabire, Immacule Muhawenimana, Alice Ikuzwe, Diane Marie Bimenyimana (Captain), Henriette Ishimwe (Vice-Captain), Margueritte Vumiliya, Gisele Ishimwe, Josiane Nyirankundineza, Belyse Murekatete, Cathia Uwamahoro, Antoinette Uwimbabazi, Flora Irakoze and Merveille Uwase.

Reserves: Olive Dusabimana and Josiane Uwimbabazi.