ENG vs SL LIVE: Eoin Morgan surpasses Asghar Afghan, MS Dhoni to become most successful captain in T20Is

Eoin Morgan has stamped his authority has one of the finest white-ball captains after becoming the most successful captain in T20I history. England have now won 43 games under Morgan’s leadership, the most by a captain, ahead of former Afghanistan captain Asghar Afghan and India’s legendary former captain MS Dhoni. The England captain achieved the record after his side registered a comfortable 26 run win over Sri Lanka in the ongoing T20 World Cup.

Eoin Morgan became the most successful captain in the shortest format of the game as England clinched a comfortable win in the T20 World Cup over Sri Lanka on Monday. The 2016 finalists have now gone four unbeaten in this edition, making them the team to beat and virtually putting them into the semi-final. Morgan starred with thee bat rescuing England from a tricky situation, before marshalling his troops to clinch a resounding win.

The win over Sri Lanka was Eoin Morgan’s 43rd as England captain, the most by a skipper in international cricket. He went past recently retired format Afghanistan captain Asghar Afghan, who led his country to 42 wins in the format. Legendary Indian captain MS Dhoni, now mentor, is third on the list with 41 wins, while ex-Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed and current Indian captain Virat Kohli complete the top five.

Most wins as captain In T20Is

  • Eoin Morgan (England) – 43 (68 matches)
  • Asghar Afghan (Afghanistan) – 42 (52 matches)
  • MS Dhoni (India) – 42 (72 matches)
  • Sarfaraz Ahmed (Pakistan) – 29 (37 matches)
  • Virat Kohli (India) – 29 (47 matches)

Should England lift the T20 World Cup this time around, he could become only the second after MS Dhoni to win both World Cup titles. Dhoni won the T20 World Cup in 2007, before lifting the 50-over World Cup in 2011. Morgan left England to victory in the 2019 World Cup, and the final in the 2016 T20 World Cup, where they lost to the West Indies. England will be keen to avenge that loss and become only the second to win multiple T20World Cup titles after West Indies.