Harmanpreet Kaur only Indian to make cut, check best XI for Big Bash League

The WBBL 2021 has reached its business end with the playoffs scheduled to take place on November 24 & 25 followed by the final on November 27, Saturday. Ahead of the playoffs, the panel comprising Lisa Sthalekar, Mel Jones, Shawn Flegier, and journalist Laura Jolly picked up WBBL Team of the Season & India T20I skipper Harmanpreet Kaur made the cut in the team. While eight Indian cricketers are playing in the ongoing WBBL edition, Harmanpreet Kaur is only the Indian to be picked in the best XI of the edition.

The WBBL Team of the Season has players form six out of eight teams and has been picked up by the panel comprising of Lisa Sthalekar, Mel Jones, Shawn Flegier, and journalist Laura Jolly. Harmanpreet and Devine are the only two overseas stars in the eleven which is led by Perth Scorchers’ Sophie Devine

Playing for Melbourne Renegades, Harmanpreet Kaur has been in terrific form with both bat and ball in the ongoing tournament. Kaur has amassed 399 runs at an impressive average of 66.5 from 11 innings, including three half-centuries. With the ball, Harmanpreet Kaur has picked up 15 wickets at an economy of 7.46, returning with the best of figure 3/22. The Indian skipper has also struck a record 18 sixes which is the highest of the ongoing season.

Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Poonam Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, Radha Yadav, and Jemimah Rodrigues are the other Indian players who are featuring in the ongoing WBBL edition.

WBBL Team of The Tournament: Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers, captain, international), Beth Mooney (Perth Scorchers), Georgia Redmayne (Brisbane Heat, wicket-keeper), Harmanpreet Kaur (Melbourne Renegades, international), Grace Harris (Brisbane Heat), Tahlia McGrath (Adelaide Strikers), Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat), Amanda-Jade Wellington (Adelaide Strikers), Hannah Darlington (Sydney Thunder), Tayla Vlaeminck (Hobart Hurricanes), Darcie Brown (Adelaide Strikers)

Coach: Simon Helmot (Melbourne Renegades)