IND vs NZ 1st T20: Newly appointed T20 skipper Rohit Sharma reaches Jaipur as per BCCI instruction, begins three-day quarantine

Newly appointed skipper Rohit Sharma reached Jaipur for the 1st T20. Earlier, other cricketers such as Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan, Venkatesh Iyer all reached the Pink City. The BCCI instructed all players for New Zealand series to assemble in Jaipur by today. All will have to spend three days in quarantine before joining Team India’s bio-bubble for 1st T20 on Nov 17.

The players in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy have also received a two-day break and will join the team by November 13.

“Players in the World Cup need a break and will join the squad on November 13. They have been in bio-bubbles for long. They will have to be in a three-day quarantine before entering the Team India bio-bubble. Rahul and other coaching staff are expected to arrive by tomorrow,” a senior BCCI official told InsideSport.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Yuzvendra Chahal (@yuzi_chahal23)

Yuzvendra Chahal, who was playing in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy for Haryana in Vadodara, arrived in Jaipur on Thursday. He will spend three days in quarantine before entering the bio-bubble. India’s ace spinner shared a picture, announcing his departure for Jaipur. The BCCI asked the team to assemble starting on Wednesday.

Other than Chahal (Haryana), Venkatesh Iyer (Madhya Pradesh), Ruturaj Gaikwad (Maharashtra), Mohammed Siraj (Hyderabad), Avesh Khan (Madhya Pradesh), Harshal Patel (Haryana) featured in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul. Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, R Ashwin were in the T20 World Cup Squad. Deepak Chahar and Shreyas Iyer were amongst the standby players in the T20 World Cup. Axar Patel who was also on standby left UAE before the Afghanistan match and returned home due to bio-bubble fatigue. He is also expected to arrive in Jaipur by Friday.

India will play three T20Is starting November 17 and two Tests starting November 25. After Jaipur, Team India will leave for Ranchi for 2nd T20I and Kolkata for 3rd T20I. The first Test will be played in Kanpur from November 25-29 and the second Test in Mumbai from December 3 to 7.

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj