IND vs NZ: Kyle Jamieson joins Kane Williamson in pulling out of T20I series, to be available for two Tests

Lanky pacer Kyle Jamieson has joined Kane Williamson in pulling out of the T20I series. Like his captain, Jamieson too will focus on the Test series. Although he was a part of the T20 World Cup, he didn’t play any matches.

Following the three T20Is on November 17, 19 and 21, New Zealand will play two Test in Kanpur and Mumbai as part of the World Test Championships. As the Kiwis will begin their title defence against India, who they met in the WTC 2021 Final, Kyle Jamieson is expected to play a big role in Trent Boult’s absence.

“We decided through talking with Kane and Kyle that they won’t play in this T20 series. They’re both going to get ready for the test matches and I think you’ll find there will be other guys involved in the test matches that won’t play the entire series either,” NZ coach Gary Stead said in an interview with Stuff.

Kyle Jamieson featured in both warm-up matches before the T20 World Cup. However, he could not replicate his form in the IPL Phase 1 after an injury he sustained during the county stint. In IPL 2021 Phase 2, he had an average outing, failing to take any wickets.

Even though Kyle Jamieson has recovered from his injury, New Zealand want to manage his workload and take it easy. As the three T20Is are within five days, the team management wanted to keep him fresh for the Test series.

“It’s a bit of a balancing act at the moment and with three T20 games in five days plus travel to three different cities it’s a very, very busy time,” Stead said.

For the team as well, it will be challenging. New Zealand, who had lost the T20 World Cup final on Sunday, hardly got any time to regroup as it faces India in the opening T20I in Jaipur on Wednesday.

It will be followed by the second and third T20Is on November 19 and November 21, before they kick off their World Test Championship defence with two games in Kanpur and Mumbai.

The Black Caps had defeated India by eight wickets in the final of the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship in Southampton, England in July this year.

New Zealand squad for T20Is: Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Captain).