IND vs NZ LIVE: Big record update! Martin Guptill eclipses Virat Kohli to become highest-ever T20I run-scorer

New Zealand opener Martin Guptill has become the highest ever T20I run-scorer, going past India’s Test and ODI skipper Virat Kohli. With 3248 runs in 111 matches, Martin Guptill has eclipsed Virat Kohli’s tally of 3227 runs in 95 matches. With 3086 runs 118* matches, India’s newly appointed T20I skipper Rohit Sharma is sitting third in the list of leading run-scorers in T20Is.

Guptill achieved the feat in the second T20I between India and New Zealand here at JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi, in his 31 runs knock. He was just 11 runs short of Kohli’s tally before the start of the games and scored 14 runs in the very first over to regain the top spot after 3 years.

Former India T20I skipper Virat Kohli sits at the 2nd position with 3227 runs in 95 T20Is. Kohli has been rested from the ongoing T20I series.

India’s T20I skipper Rohit Sharma sits at the 3rd spot with 3086 runs, followed by Aaron Finch (2608) and Paul Stirling (2570) 4th and 5th spots, respectively.

Highest-ever T20I run-scorers:

Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s
MJ Guptill (NZ) 2009-2021 111* 107 7 3248 105 32.48 2377 136.64 2 19 3 283 161
V Kohli (INDIA) 2010-2021 95 87 25 3227 94* 52.04 2340 137.90 0 29 3 290 91
RG Sharma (INDIA) 2007-2021 118* 109 15 3086 118 32.82 2212 139.51 4 24 7 278 142
AJ Finch (AUS) 2011-2021 83 83 10 2608 172 35.72 1762 148.01 2 15 7 261 113
PR Stirling (IRE) 2009-2021 92 91 8 2570 115* 30.96 1889 136.05 1 19 9 295 89


Speaking ahead of the game, Guptill said: “We got to knockout stage in the T20 World Cup, so that was good. The other night we were just a little short of where we wanted to be with the bat. It’s all about contributing to the team and doing whatever I can to get us to win. I contributed a bit with the bat in the T20 World Cup and took it very deep against Scotland. I just want to go out tonight and do the same things that I have been doing. There is no guarantee in T20 cricket.”

Coming to the match, India skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bowl against New Zealand. The team made one change as Harshal Patel was handed a debut with pacer Mohammed Siraj injuring his hand in the opening game of the series on Wednesday.
New Zealand also made three changes to the team that lost the opening game in Jaipur as Milne, Neesham, and Sodhi are back for Ferguson, Rachin Ravindra, and Todd Astle.