IPL 2021: Eoin Morgan sparks new controversy, says, ‘Tripathi catch was out’

The camaraderie between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) skipper Eoin Morgan and controversies does not seem to end. In the match, Rahul Tripathi took a catch of KL Rahul but the third umpire felt that there was no conclusive evidence to give KL Rahul out. However, Morgan felt “in real-time” the catch by Rahul Tripathi was clean and asserted the poor fielding cost them the match on Friday.

The incident occurred in the 19th over bowled by Shivam Mavi. Rahul pulled the ball flat to the deep where Tripathi came charging in from the midwicket boundary. The third umpire said it’s touching the ground.

KL Rahul smashed a gutsy fifty while Sharukh Khan slammed 22 off 9 balls as Punjab Kings defeated KKR by five wickets in their Indian Premier League (IPL) encounter here at the Dubai International Stadium.

“Initially we didn’t field as well, put catches down. Myself early too. We probably had a par score on the wicket. Kings played well, we fought back, but catches have cost us. I thought in real-time that the Tripathi catch was out,” said Morgan during the post-match presentation.

“But when you slow it down, the third umpire decided otherwise. We got on with it once he made his call. Hopefully we play hard in the back end, get a few results and qualify into the playoffs,” he added.

“That was the worst piece of third umpiring I have ever seen,” Swann said on Star Sports’ post-match show.

“That was a shocker, this can end someone’s campaign. He shouldn’t have seen the replay more than once, it just looked out. Even if they had got KL Rahul out, things would have been different. We cannot have these kinds of shockers in the IPL,” added Gautam Gambhir.

Punjab Kings needed 24 runs in the last three overs and Rahul and Shahrukh Khan helped the side register a win over KKR despite a wobble in the last over.

The Eoin Morgan-led side had come back into the game but Rahul’s calm and composed knock helped Punjab Kings to walk away with two points.