IPL 2021: From Chris Gayle to Virat Kohli, 14 records that are yet to be broken after 14 editions

The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League has been resurrected after it was postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak inside the bio-bubble. On Sunday, although far from India’s shores, IPL 2021 will once again resume with the blockbuster clash between MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings and Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians. In those 14 years, records have been created and tumbled like 10 pins without losing the essence of the game. From Chris Gayle to Virat Kohli, their records are some of the tough ones to achieve.

With the T20 World Cup coming up, IPL 2021 will be an added motivation for the players to impress with record-breaking innings. As Phase 2 gets underway tomorrow in Dubai, 11Cricketers takes a look at 14 records that are still standing.

Highest individual score: Chris Gayle 175* vs Pune Warriors: No cricket fan can forget the night at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in IPL 2013. Chris Gayle bossed over Pune Warriors bowlers with only Bhuvneshwar Kumar spared on the night. His 66-ball unbeaten 175 still stands as the highest score of IPL and it is all set to stay that way for some time now.

Highest innings total: RCB 263/5 vs Pune Warriors: Chris Gayle’s hammering led records to tumble. His score took Virat Kohli’s RCB to 263/5 and that remains the highest total in IPL even after eight years.

Lowest innings total: RCB 49 all out vs KKR: Interestingly, it is also Virat Kohli’s RCB who have the lowest total in IPL. In 2017, KKR bowled RCB out for 49 inside 10 overs, making it the only team with the highest and lowest record.

Most ducks: Rohit Sharma (13): Despite being a prolific white-ball player, Rohit Sharma has the unwanted record of scoring most ducks in IPL. Alongside Ajinkya Rahane and Parthiv Patel, he is at the joint top with 13 ducks to his name.

Most sixes: Chris Gayle (357): Another Chris Gayle record that is unlikely to tumble anytime soon is of most sixes. With 357 sixes, Chris Gayle leads everyone by a mile and a half. The nearest competitor is AB De Villiers with 245 and Rohit Sharma with 224. Gayle also has the record of most sixes in an innings — against Pune Warriors during his 175-knock.

Most centuries: Chris Gayle (6): With six hundred, Chris Gayle is just leading the race. But with Virat Kohli with five hundred is closely following him while David Warner is following him with 3. However, Virat Kohli’s four centuries came in one season (2016) and he should have crossed Gayle’s mark by now.

Most wickets: Lasith Malinga (170): Former Mumbai Indians speedster Lasith Malinga is still the highest wicket-taker even after calling it quits. But Delhi Capitals’ Amit Mishra is just three wickets behind and should take over in UAE.

Highest partnership: Virat Kohli & AB de Villiers (229*): For the first time, both AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli slammed centuries to put up an unbeaten second-wicket stand of 229 against Gujarat Lions, who were led by Brendon McCullum in 2016. The record still stands.

Most hat-tricks: Amit Mishra (3): Delhi Capitals’ veteran spinner Amit Mishra has three hat-tricks to his name. Interestingly, Rohit Sharma also has a hat-trick besides Yuvraj Singh’s two.

Most Runs: Virat Kohli (6076): The only batsman to cross the 6,000-run barrier is RCB skipper Virat Kohli. Since 2008, he has produced batting lessons for many through his skills in IPL. While his scoring has taken a dip but that he has amassed 6,076 runs at an average of 37.97 with a strike rate of 130.41 tells you how good a batter he is.

Fastest century: Chris Gayle (30 ball 100): Not many can hit a century off 30 balls. But on an eventful night at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Chris Gayle ruled, bringing up his hundred in just 30 balls. He bettered Yusuf Pathan’s 37-ball 100 record. Gayle’s record has since remained untouched. Even though many have closed in, nobody has managed to better the record.

Fastest half-century: KL Rahul (14-ball 50): Punjab Kings captain may not have the hitting prowess as Chris Gayle but his technique and skills are only matched by a few. His 14-ball 50 against Delhi Capitals in 2018 is just one example. Chris Gayle had a chance during his record 175* innings but he reached the fifty in 17 balls before his blitzkrieg in the next 13 balls.

Most dismissals by a wicketkeeper: MS Dhoni (153): Who else but MS Dhoni. Former India and current CSK captain has played 204 innings and has a dismissal of 153 including 114 catches and 39 stumps. Dinesh Karthik is closely following him with 144 dismissals including 113 catches and 31 stumps in 186 innings.

Best bowling in an innings (Alzarri Joseph 6/12): Mumbai Indians’ Alzarri Joseph scalped six wickets to bowl out SRH for 96 in IPL 2019. His masterful figures of 3.4-1-12-6 still stands as the best. Only three bowlers have taken six-wicket hauls. Sohail Tanvir (2008) and Adam Zampa (2016) are the other two. However, considering runs conceded, Anil Kumble’s 3.1-1-5-5 stands as the best figure of all time.