IPL 2021: KKR in finals but Dinesh Karthik in dock after committing code of conduct breach, will he play finals vs CSK?

Dinesh Karthik, the Kolkata Knight Riders wicketkeeper-batsman, has been reprimanded for breaching the VIVO Indian Premier League’s (IPL) Code of Conduct during his team’s Qualifier 2 against Delhi Capitals at Sharjah on Wednesday 13th October, 2021. According to BCCI’s official release, Karthik has admitted the offence.

“Mr Karthik admitted to the Level 1 offence 2.2 of the IPL’s Code of Conduct and accepted the sanction. For Level 1 breaches of the Code of Conduct, the Match Referee’s decision is final and binding”, declared the official release by BCCI.

Will Karthik Play?

Dinesh Karthik will surely play the finals as offence committed under the code are of minor nature and doesn’t ban player to play the next match. The Code primarily covers the Conduct that brings the game into disrepute. (a) public acts of misconduct; (b) unruly public behaviour; and (c) inappropriate comments which are detrimental to the interests of the game.

As Karthik’s offence is of minor nature, he will be available for the finals vs CSK.

Two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders have stormed into IPL 2021 final after registering 3 wickets win over Rishabh Pant’s Delhi Capitals but not before huge drama. From 13 runs needed in 25 balls, Knight Riders lost six wickets in 3.5 overs with only seven runs added, and faced an equation with 6 required off 2 deliveries. Rahul Tripathi guided the side home with a huge SIX. KKR will now lock horns with MS Dhoni’s CSK in the final on October 15 in Dubai.

CSK vs KKR LIVE will be played in IPL 2021 Finals at 7.30PM on Friday.

Chasing 136, KKR got off to a solid start as openers Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill put on 51 runs inside the first six overs. Both batters kept on scoring runs steadily and at the halfway mark, KKR’s score read 76/0, still needing 60 more runs for the win. Iyer continued with his brilliant form and he brought up his half-century in the 12th over of the innings.

It was Kagiso Rabada who finally ended Iyer’s (55) innings with KKR still 40 runs away from the target. The Knight Riders then lost 6 wickets for 7 runs in a nail-biting finish as DC was able to take the wickets of Gill (46), Nitish Rana (13), Dinesh Karthik (0), Eoin Morgan (0), Shakib Al Hasan (0), and Sunil Narine (0) in a hurry. However, in the end, KKR managed to score 6 runs off the final two deliveries to register a win.

Earlier, put in to bat, Delhi Capitals got off to a steady start as openers Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan put on 32 runs for the first wicket, but this stand was finally broken in the 5th over by Varun Chakravarthy as he outclassed Shaw (18). After the end of the first six overs, Delhi Capitals’ score read 38/1.

Marcus Stoinis, who came in place of Tom Curran was promoted to number 3, and along with Shikhar Dhawan, put on 39 runs for the second wicket. However, as soon as Delhi started to gain an upper hand, KKR got the breakthrough of Stoinis (18) as Shivam Mavi dismissed the right-handed batter. Soon Chakravarthy picked up his second wicket as he removed Dhawan (36) and Delhi was reduced to 83/3 in the 15th over.

KKR managed to maintain a stranglehold over DC batters and this further resulted in the dismissal of skipper Rishabh Pant (6) and the task of reaching a competitive score rested on the shoulders of Shreyas Iyer and Shimron Hetmyer. In the final three overs, Delhi Capitals managed to score 36 more runs and as a result, the side posted a score of more than the 130-run mark. Varun Chakravarthy returned with figures of 2-26 while Shivam Mavi and Lockie Ferguson picked up 1 wicket each.