IPL 2021 Orange Cap: Shikhar Dhawan reclaims Orange Cap lead from Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi & Rishabh Pant break into top 10 list

Delhi Capitals’ Shikhar Dhawan reclaimed his Orange Cap lead from Sanju Samson on Tuesday against KKR. Needing just 3 to take back the throne, he did so easily. Punjab Kings skipper KL Rahul is currently third. He has amassed 450+ runs in the IPL 2021 comprising 3 fifties.

Meanwhile, KKR batsman Rahul Tripathi has also made it to the top 10 list. Tripathi, in particular, continued his decent form in IPL 2021. He has completed 300+ runs in the ongoing IPL season.

On the other hand, Rishabh Pant also entered the list by scoring 300+ runs in IPL 2021. He scored 39 runs off just 36 balls. He also completed 3000 runs as a T20 player and broke Virender Sehwag’s record to become Delhi Capitals’ leading run-scorer in IPL.

Punjab Kings captain KL Rahul also features in the top 3 list with 400+ runs in IPL. Other players in the top 5 list are CSK’s Faf du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad.

On Monday, Rajasthan Royals skipper Sanju Samson overtook DC’s Shikhar Dhawan to reach on top of the table. He also went past 400+ runs in IPL 2021 and reach the landmark of 3000 runs in IPL. He went on to score 82 runs off just 57 balls that comprised 7 fours and 3 sixes at an impressive strike rate of 143. However, He has now slipped to second place.

RCB captain Virat Kohli and MI skipper Rohit Sharma also feature in the top 10 list with 300+ runs in their IPL 2021 Orange Cap tally.

Rules for IPL 2021 Orange Cap

  • The Orange Cap is offered to the leading run-scorer of the season.
  • The batsman with the most runs in the tournament during the season would wear the Orange Cap while in the field.
  • In case of a tie, the batsman with a better strike rate is awarded the Orange Cap.
  • The Orange Cap owner who is fielding is allowed to wear the Orange Cap till the end of the innings even if an opposition batsman has overtaken his runs.