IPL 2021 Purple Cap: Rashid Khan & Mohd Shami jump into top 5 list, Avesh Khan & Kagiso Rabada make gains

SRH ace spinner Rashid Khan has entered top 5 list after crucial wicket of Chris Gayle against Punjab Kings. One of the economical bowlers of the tournament, Khan is now equal with Punjab’s Arshdeep Singh with 12 wickets in the tournament.

In the meantime, Mohd Shami also made huge gains to surge his place in top 5 list in Purple Cap race. His back to back wickets of David Warner and Kane Williamson against SRH took him into top 5 table.

Earlier today, Delhi Capitals bowler Avesh Khan has overtaken RR’s Chris Morris in terms of the number of wickets in IPL 2021. The DC pacer now has 15 wickets in 10 matches. He went ahead of the South Africa allrounder by taking the crucial wicket of dangerous Liam Livingstone. His economy rate has been phenomenal at 7.5 which is best among top 5 bowlers in Purple Cap list.

Besides Avesh Khan, DC pace spearhead Kagiso Rabada also improved his place to jump into the top 5 list. He took the wicket of RR’s Mahipal Lomror.

Meanwhile, RCB’s Harshal Patel continues to lead IPL 2021 Purple Cap table. He has taken 19 wickets in the tournament. Others in the top 5 list are RR allrounder Chris Morris (14 wickets each), Punjab Kings’ Arshdeep Singh (12).

Rules for IPL Purple Cap:

  1. The Purple Cap is offered to the leading wicket-taker of the season.
  2. The bowler with the most wickets in the tournament during the season would wear the Purple Cap while in the field.
  3. In case of a tie, the Purple Cap is given to the bowler with a superior economy rate.