IPL 2021: Virat Kohli retires from IPL captaincy, says, ‘Loyalty matters, commitment with RCB till I play’

Virat Kohli’s captaincy era in the Indian Premier League (IPL) came to an end on Monday. After suffering a defeat against KKR in the Eliminator of IPL 2021, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) skipper Virat Kohli declared that he will continue to play for the Bengaluru-based franchise till the end

“I have tried my best to create a culture where youngsters could come and play expressive cricket. It’s something I’ve tried to do in the India level as well. All I can say is that I have given my best. I have given my 120% to this franchise and will continue giving it as a player on the field,” said Kohli.

“It’s a great time to regroup and restructure the franchise for the next three years. I will definitely (play for RCB). For me, loyalty matters and my commitment is with this franchise till the last day I play IPL,” he added.

Virat Kohli bids adieu from IPL captaincy 

  • When the UAE leg of the IPL 2021 resumed, Kohli went on to announce that he would step down as the skipper of the franchise after the ongoing edition.
  • Kohli had become the regular captain at Royal Challengers in 2013 and he has been a part of the franchise as a player since the inception of the IPL in 2008.
  • Under Virat Kohli, RCB had reached the finals of IPL in 2016 and it was in the same edition that Kohli registered the most number of runs by a batter in a single season.
  • However, after that RCB found the going tough and the side failed to reach the playoffs in three consecutive years and the jinx was finally broken in 2020.
  • In the 140 matches he captained in IPL, Kohli won 66 and lost 70 while four were no results.
  • Kohli will also step down as Team India’s T20I captain after the upcoming T20 World Cup.
Most matches as captain
Player Span Mat Won Lost Tied NR %
MS Dhoni 2008-2021 203 120 82 0 1 59.40
(Chennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiants)
V Kohli 2011-2021 140 64 69 3 4 48.16
(Royal Challengers Bangalore)
G Gambhir 2009-2018 129 71 57 1 0 55.42
(Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders)
RG Sharma 2013-2021 129 75 50 4 0 59.68
(Mumbai Indians)


KKR will now face Delhi Capitals in Qualifier 2 on Wednesday at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.