Most T20 hundreds: Pakistan captain Babar Azam slams record 6th T20 century, overtakes Virat Kohli; joins Rohit Sharma on elite list

Pakistan captain Babar Azam on Thursday added another feather to his name. He set a new record for the most T20 hundreds by a batsman. He slammed record 6th T20 hundred century while representing Central Punjab against Northen in Pakistan’s National T20 Cup in Rawalpindi. As a result, he pipped Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma.

When it comes to most T20 centuries, Babar Azam went past India captain Virat Kohli. Kohli has slammed 5 tons from 315 matches while Babar has now struck 6 hundreds from 194 matches. Babar also joined India’s swashbuckling batsman Rohit Sharma and Shane Watson on the elite list of batters with most T20 centuries. He also went past the tally of Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal who have scored 5 centuries each.

Most T20 hundreds record

Chris Gayle – 22 from 448 matches
Michael Klinger – 8 from 206 matches
David Warner – 8 from 306 matches
Aaron Finch – 8 in 324 matches
Luke Wright – 7 in 336 matches
Brendon McCullum – 7 in 370 matches
Shane Watson – 6 in 343 matches
Rohit Sharma – 6 in 353 matches
Babar Azam – 6 in 194 matches

In his innings, Azam slammed 3 sixes and 11 boundaries. He scored 105 runs off 63 deliveries and also stitched a crucial 63 runs stand with opener Ahmed Shehzad. He remained unbeaten as Central Punjab posted 200 runs on the scorecard in allotted 20 overs. Unfortunately, Babar Azam’s record-breaking hundred ended in vain. Central Punjab lost to Northern in Match 11 of the National T20 Cup.

Azam had earlier slammed 65 runs against Balochistan in the T20 tournament. He is expected to carry his blistering form for Pakistan in the upcoming T20 World Cup. Pakistan will lock horns against arch-rivals India on October 24 in UAE. He will look to guide 2009 champions Pakistan to another T20 World Cup title and end their 12 years wait to lay hands on the silverware.