SA vs NED: South Africa announce 16-member squad for ODIs against Netherlands, Keshav Maharaj named captain

Cricket South Africa on Tuesday announced their 16-member squad for the three-match one-day series against the Netherlands starting from November 26. Keshav Maharaj will lead the Proteas’ side as Temba Bavuma has been rested.

Apart from Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen, have also been rested to manage the heavy workload and back-to-back bubbles on national duty and in various international T20 competitions.

The 16-member squad announced for Cricket South Africa also sees the return of Wayne Parnell and Khaya Zondo after four and three years respectively. Parnell last appeared in South Africa colors in the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy while Khaya Zondo played in the bilateral series against Zimbabwe in 2018.

Other returns to the team include Janneman Malan, Kyle Verreynne, Daryn Dupavillon, and Sisanda Magala, along with ICC T20 World Cup squad members Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, and Lizaad Williams.

Zubayr Hamza and Ryan Rickelton receive maiden call-ups to the ODI squad, following consistently impressive performances in the Cricket South Africa (CSA) domestic scene.

CSA Convenor of Selectors talked about the squad and said CSA is excited about giving these cricketers a good go and also mentioned that they are not taking the Netherlands lightly.

“The National Selection Panel and I are excited to give this group of exciting cricketers a good go. These selections are part of our strategy to give opportunities and reward the good work of players in our provincial system. We do not take this historic tour of the Netherlands to our shores lightly. We are keen to showcase the talent that South Africa has and to give opportunities to players who have been patient for a long time and are raring to go,” said Victor Mpitsang.

“On behalf of the Panel, I would like to wish Keshav Maharaj, coach, Mark Boucher, and the team all of the very best as they look to make inroads into the team’s campaign to qualify for the 2023 ICC World Cup,” he added.

Talking about the series, the three-match Betway ODI series will be played from November 26 to December 1. The first two fixtures will be played at SuperSport Park in Centurion, while the last one will be moving to the Imperial Wanderers.

The series also forms part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, the qualification tournament for the 2023 ICC World Cup. South Africa is currently ninth on the log.

South Africa squad: Keshav Maharaj (captain), Daryn Dupavillon, Zubayr Hamza, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo.

Netherlands tour to South Africa schedule

Friday, 26 November at 10:00 SAST
1st ODI, SuperSport Park, Centurion

Sunday, 28 November at 10:00 SAST
2nd, SuperSport Park, Centurion

Wednesday, 1 December at 10:00 SAST
3rd ODI, Imperial Wanderers, Johannesburg