T20 World Cup: Brett Lee names India as favorites to win the title

Former Australia fast bowler Brett Lee has named India as the favorites to win the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The legendary pacer, however, favored his national side to win the World Cup and considers that it is the best chance for the Aaron Finch-led side to clinch the coveted trophy.

Lee also talked about Team India T20 future and suggested that team management should look to build the team around KL Rahul.

“England, they’re always a big threat because of the squad they’ve got and the experience they have. But, for me, India are the favourites,” Lee told ‘Foxsports.com.au.

T20 World Cup: Brett Lee suggests building a team around KL Rahul: Lee said that KL Rahul is a great prospect and building a team around him will also ease the pressure off Virat Kohli. “I’ve backed KL Rahul to get the most runs in the competition. I think KL Rahul coming off a great IPL, he’s the pillar that the guys can build around him because it takes the pressure off Kohli if KL Rahul is scoring runs. It allows Kohli to just play his natural game,” Foxsports.com.au quoted Lee as saying.

“And obviously with Virat Kohli and the captaincy, it’s probably his last crack at it so he’ll want to go out on a high. India would definitely be one of the top picks and could definitely win this thing,” he added.

Brett Lee wants Australia to win maiden World Cup: Brett Lee showed optimism and asked the Aaron Finch-led team to lift their maiden T20 World Cup title. “I’m very patriotic, I want Australia to win and I think they can, but India definitely will be in the final and I think Australia has their best chance,” he added.

India will face Pakistan in their opening game of the T20 World Cup 2021 at the Dubai International Stadium on October 24.

India, champions in the inaugural edition played in South Africa in 2007 and finalists in 2014, will also have Afghanistan, New Zealand, and two qualifiers from Round 1 to contend with in Group 2.

The ICC T20 World Cup in UAE and Oman will get underway from October 17, with the final to be played in Dubai on November 14.