T20 World Cup: On his last assignment as India coach, Ravi Shastri leaves for Dubai with high-hopes

India’s head coach Ravi Shastri has reached Dubai ahead of the T20 World Cup. While India’s other coaching and support staff will reach on October 7 and will spend 6-day quarantine and make Chennai Super Kings’ hotel their base, Shastri will be engaged in the shooting of a documentary movie.

Ravi Shastri was supposed to leave for Dubai on October 7 with other coaches, including bowling coach Bharat Arun, batting coach Vikram Rathour and fielding coach R Sridhar, he will join them on October 13 after their quarantine ends.

The coaches will be joined by Indian players barring the IPL 2021 finalists in Dubai ahead of the T20 World Cup camp. The likes of Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Ravinder Jadeja and mentor MS Dhoni will not be available until October 14 as they are confirmed to be in the IPL 2021 playoffs. However, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad, will be available to join after October 7 while Indian players in KKR, PBKS, MI and RR will have to wait a little longer as they still await their fate in the IPL 2021 Playoff race.

India will begin their T20 World Cup campaign against Pakistan on October 24 and it will be India’s last tournament under Virat Kohli’s captaincy (T20I) and Ravi Shastri’s coaching tenure. Ravi Shastri will also step down from the coaching role after the mega event. He said he would not want to overstay his welcome.

“I believe so because I’ve achieved all I wanted. Five years as No.1 (in Test cricket), to win in Australia twice, to win in England. I spoke to Michael Atherton earlier this summer and said: ‘For me, this is the ultimate to beat Australia in Australia and win in England in COVID-19 times.’ We lead England 2-1 and the way we played at Lord’s and the Oval was special,” Ravi Shastri said.

India T20 World Cup squad: Virat Kohli (Capt, RCB), Rohit Sharma (VC, MI), KL Rahul (PBKS), Suryakumar Yadav (MI), Rishabh Pant (WK, DC), Ishan Kishan (WK, MI), Hardik Pandya (MI), Ravindra Jadeja (CSK), Rahul Chahar (MI), Ravichandran Ashwin (DC), Axar Patel (DC), Varun Chakravarthy (KKR), Jasprit Bumrah (MI), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH), Mohd Shami (PBKS). Standby players: Shreyas Iyer (DC), Shardul Thakur (CSK), Deepak Chahar (CSK).

India T20 World Cup Schedule:

October 24, 2021: India vs Pakistan in Dubai @ 7.30 pm

October 31, 2021: India vs New Zealand in Dubai @ 7.30 pm

November 3, 2021: India vs Afghanistan in Abu Dhabi @ 7.30 pm

November 5, 2021: India v B1 in Dubai @ 7.30 pm

November 8, 2021: India v A2 in Dubai @ 7.30 pm

Semifinals: November 10, 11

Final: November 14