T20 World Cup: Pakistan captain Babar Azam opens up on India vs Pakistan encounter says, ‘will open with Rizwan against India’

Pakistan cricket team’s captain Babar Azam has opened up on the India vs Pakistan encounter in ICC T20 World Cup scheduled to take place on 24th of October at the Dubai International Stadium. Azam has expressed that Pakistan will want to make a positive start to the tournament by winning the first game against India. Azam also revealed that he will be opening the batting with Mohammad Rizwan in the mega encounter.

“Our morale is high and we want to make a positive start to the tournament by winning the opening game against India. Gaining momentum at the start of the tournament will help in improving the confidence of the team,” Babar was quoted as saying by Cricket Pakistan.

Pakistan has so far failed to beat India in a World Cup encounter. Virat Kohli’s Team India will aim to continue their dominance over Men in Green. India and Pakistan are in Group 2 along with Afghanistan, New Zealand and two other qualifying teams.

All the World Cup-bound players in the Indian team have got good match practise in UAE during the ongoing IPL 2021. While on the other hand, Pakistan’s preparations were badly hit after New Zealand and England cancelled their limited-overs tours to the country due to security concerns.

“I will open the innings with Rizwan during the World Cup but we can change our plans after looking at the conditions. Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik are match-winners and their experience will help us on the field,” Babar concluded.

There can’t be a better start for the Pakistan cricket team than beating India in the first game of the 2021 T20 World Cup. So far the arch-rivals have meet each other five times in the T20 World Cuo out of which four matches went in India’s favour while one had no result. (India vs Pakistan)

Pakistan is yet to beat India in any World Cup fixture.

India leads Pakistan 6-1 in 8 T20 matches, including a tie. The record shows Pakistan will have an uphill task against Virat Kohli & Co. in the upcoming contest.

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad: Babar Azam (captain, Central Punjab), Shadab Khan (vice-captain, Northern), Asif Ali (Northern), Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Haider Ali (Northern), Haris Rauf (Northern), Hasan Ali (Central Punjab), Imad Wasim (Northern), Mohammad Hafeez (Central Punjab), Mohammad Nawaz (Northern), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper, Sindh), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Shoaib Malik (Central Punjab).

India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, R.Ashwin, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami